Poof! Go The Serials

20140629-114004-42004110.jpgOver the weekend I changed what I works I had available on Amazon. I decided to remove the serial parts of How It Ends from Amazon and leave the full novel. (I also dropped the price).

Why did I do this? I’m not entirely sure. It just felt right.

Personally, I found that, whenever I went onto Amazon to see what the listings under my name looked like, I had this list of six things. Five of which were all various bits and pieces of each other. One novel, four serials that comprise the one novel, and a short story. (I’ve taken the short story down too.) It felt cluttered to me, like I had built a bunch of LEGO kits and left them and their pieces all over the desk. I wanted the novel of How It Ends to rise to the top, and there was simply too much other stuff in the way.

Another thing I didn’t like was the cover images. With the exception of the novel, none of the cover images came out the way I wanted them to. I suppose an argument could be made that I could hire someone to make the covers for me, but I don’t have a lot of disposable income to throw around on professional graphic design. Everything about How It Ends has been a DYI production, and the covers are no different. And with the serial parts, it looked like a DYI project. A bad one.

Before I pulled the serials off of Amazon, I consulted my friend Abby. She suggested I leave them up there. If you pull them, you (and the shopper) lose visibility to any comments that have been made on them. And if you have a large number of positive comments, logic suggested that you wouldn’t want to do anything to lose them.

This is a valid argument, and if I had more comments, I’d consider leaving them up there. But I didn’t have many, and of the few I did have, not all were positive. Now, I don’t necessarily care about whether a reader gives me a bad review, as evidenced here. But when you have so few reviews, one bad one can bring the whole balance of stars down in a hurry.

I hemmed and hawed and finally decided to take the serials down. Now when you search Amazon for me, you’ll only get the one listing. The experiment of serializing the novel was interesting but ultimately didn’t really amount to anything. No need to keep the parts out there. The novel is out now and now that I’ve lowered the price, it’s cheaper than if you bought the parts and added them together.

So the serials are gone. Poof! Like magic.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

